New York State Health Foundation

Shortcut Navigation:

Community Advisory Committee

NYSHealth established a Community Advisory Committee to garner ongoing community input on its activities. The Committee reports to NYSHealth’s President and CEO, and serves to broaden community input and perspectives on the development and implementation of activities related to NYSHealth’s strategic priorities. The Committee makes valuable contributions by:

1) providing guidance on approaches to communicating the findings from Foundation activities;

2) informing the future direction and strategic plans of the Foundation;

3) participating in the review of the Foundation's performance in meeting its goals; and

4) informing the Foundation about organizations that could be productive grantees.

To ensure regional representation, NYSHealth staff has partitioned the State into 10 regions, and recommends at least one representative from each region. Committee members reflect the rich diversity of New York State across ethnic and racial groups. The Foundation seeks representation from both the private and public sectors, including health and social service providers, consumer and advocacy groups representing target populations and health/policy issues, public health representatives, media, and other groups that relate to the Foundation’s mission. Below is a listing of Community Advisory Committee members.

  • Sol Marie Alfonso-Jones

    Program Officer, Long Island Community Foundation


  • Diane Arneth, B.S.N., M.P.A.

    President and CEO, Community Health Action of Staten Island


  • Marjorie A. Cadogan

    Executive Deputy Commissioner of the Human Resources Administration’s Office of Citywide Health Insurance Access


  • Dr. Alwyn Cohall

    Director, Harlem Health Promotion Center


  • Anne Erickson

    President and CEO, Empire Justice Center


  • Dr. Allan Formicola

    Dean Emeritus and Professor Emeritus, Columbia University College of Dental Medicine


  • Mindy Thompson Fullilove, M.D.

    Research Psychiatrist, New York State Psychiatric Institute


  • Cathy Homkey

    CEO, Adirondack Health Institute, Inc.


  • Glenn Liebman

    CEO, Mental Health Association in New York State


  • Ann F. Monroe

    President, Health Foundation for Western & Central New York


  • Doug Rahner

    Vice President, Medical Services for Family Health Network of Central New York, Inc.


  • Gail Speedy Mayeaux

    Executive Director, Southern Tier Community Health Center Network


  • Susan Stuard

    Executive Director, Taconic Health Information Network and Community


  • Elizabeth Swain

    President and CEO, Community Health Care Association of New York State


  • Bob Thompson

    Vice President, Safety Net Programs, Excellus BlueCross BlueShield


  • Kevin D. Watkins, M.D., M.P.H.

    Public Health Director, Cattaraugus County Health Department


  • Carrie Whitwood

    Executive Director, Ardent Solutions